Being an Examiner

April 13, 2012 at 7:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So I mentioned in my last post that I’m now doing a bunch of writing for Examiner.com, but there are some things that I’ve noticed.

First, writing in third person is difficult.

Second, coming up with ideas for posts, then turning those posts into comprehensive articles and finding videos/pictures to go with is very difficult.

Third, being coherent when I’m so used to just blathering here in any which way is VERY hard.

It’s great! I’m really enjoying it, but it’s still a challenge. I’m trying to use more resources on the site, like their University, and the forums to get help and inspiration. I’m also following a number of other Examiners who write about a similar topic as mine.

I think a big part of this is that I feel horribly inadequate for my topic. I’m not! I’m Christian and I’m writing about Christian Living, but the big thing is that I know that I’m knew, and different, and that I don’t really fit in, especially with the more conservative sects. There’s a little voice that’s constantly telling me that I can’t do this, that I’m not good enough, and who would want to read something from me when I don’t know enough.

I know it’s likely just to try and get me to stop writing because I’m on the right path and have a chance of reaching people. It’s still really hard to fight those thoughts though. Even when I have a really good article.

I get overwhelmed thinking about what I’m going to write and how much I have to write… but when you look at it, each article is only 200-400 words on average, and I can pump that out in 20 minutes. Heck I’ve been writing this post for 5 and I think I’m already over 200 words.

It’s really not that hard, I’m just allowing myself to listen to those voices. They’re the voices that have been telling me to lay down and die, to let people walk over me, and that I’ll never amount to anything. It’s these voices that I need to evict from my mind. My last article on Examiner got 8 out of 8 possible score. I’m doing the right thing, I have the right stuff for this.

I need to forge ahead and keep going!

It’s just really tough.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.