2 in 2011

December 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So I started late for a long list of sewn objects, but I have a second that I finished today.

Yes, this is the exact same colour as my skirt, it is actually the exact same fabric as the skirt and shirt work together to be Lucy from Peanuts, but I wanted this costume to be something that I can wear regularly.

So this top is made from the New Look 6338 view B in the same cotton-poly blend that  my skirt is made from. I think the weight of the fabric is a bit too much for the pattern though, because the arms stick out rather than fluff around my arms. I still like it though.

If I remake this though, I will need to change the neck because it’s a bit tight. I’m really impressed with how the zipper went, it’s probably the best one I’ve put in ever.

I finished this up for the New Years party we’re going to today so I didn’t have time to do a proper outfit get up to show off the shirt. I’ll get around to that tomorrow or something.

My plans for 2012 are to actively start using Suzy (my sewing machine) and to make lovely outfits for myself.

First up:

Gertie’s Bombshell Dress Course. This is two fold, first, I’d get a full tutorial in how to make a proper dress, a muslin, and everything from start to finish. Secondly, I have a costume that I’m going to be making, and this dress pattern looks just about right for it (with one or two minor tweaks.) So I’ll have a lovely dress, a lovely costume, and the skills and knowledge to continue on my path of a home made wardrobe.

I hope everyone has a wonderful New Year, catch you on the flip side!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.