Big Bike for Heart and Stroke

May 22, 2008 at 10:57 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Whew, what a weekend, I definitely have a lot to tell you about, however before I do I’m going to put in a little plug.

I’m currently fundraising for the Big Bike for Heart and Stroke. Essentially I will be riding (along with many members from my work) on a big bike to support the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada.

If you would like to support me, you can do so through this link.

This charity is very important to me. Heart attacks and strokes are major issues in my family, on both sides. My maternal grandfather had his first heart attack 15 years ago, and we’re lucky we still have him. This year has been hard on us with him going in and out of the hospital with an irregular heart beat and low blood pressure.

My paternal grandfather had a series of “mini strokes” about 8 years ago, and while it didn’t have the debilitating effects of a full stroke, his mind was severely affected to the point that he doesn’t really seem like my grandfather most of the time anymore.

Heart disease however is the number one killer among the women in my family. We are all on watch for heart issues. I’m only 25 and I’ve already had one cardiogram, my younger brother has also.

I would really appreciate it if you would sponsor me in this bike ride, and if you decide not to sponsor me specifically, please think about donating to Heart and Stroke because this is a curable and preventable disease, and hopefully we’ll be able to stop it from taking lives prematurely.

Thanks so much.

Till next time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.