The One Day Dress

January 8, 2012 at 11:47 pm | Posted in clothing, Sewing | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Ok, so technically two, since I cut out the pattern yesterday, but all things considered I could have made this dress from start to finish in one day.

Using this beautiful lycra that my hubby got me long before he was even considered for the position of hubby, and a pattern borrowed from my friend J, I made this:

First picture taken with flash, second picture without, and in NONE of my pictures can you see the beautiful turquoise stripe that’s going down my right side. Hopefully it wil show up when pictures are taken in daylight in Cuba.

So the pattern is Simplicity 3775, view A but with short sleeves. I was worried when I was planning this dress, because my lycra stretches both horizontally and vertically, but to different degrees. I knew I wanted the waist band pattern to be perpendicular to the rest of the dress, but that would mean it would stretch differently.

I took my fabric to a knitting meet up and got opinions, and it all turned out fine. The fabric is a complete static ball though, probably from being in my stash for 6 years.

The dress got rave reviews from hubby and other than the static, I find it well fitting and very comfortable. I’m pondering wearing it to work tomorrow to see what others think. It needs a run under an iron, and a rub with a bounce sheet first though.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

