Making Time

November 8, 2011 at 7:34 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I don’t know how I did it. Last year I spent easily one hundred hours on the internet per week, I worked one hour longer per day, I had a bus ride that was an hour longer each way, and my house was a disaster. Now I spend maybe 10-15 hours on the internet per week, I work a shorter work day, my commute is a lot shorter, and my house is STILL a disaster!

I don’t get it. I cut out a lot of stuff that was taking up my time so why don’t I feel like I have all this extra time to do stuff?

It’s priorities and making time.

A few years ago I posted on here about how I was at college and knitting and a number of people would walk by me and state that they just didn’t have time for knitting. I then went on to say that technically I didn’t “have time” for knitting, but I made time.

The difference is that knitting is something I enjoy doing, it calms me, it feels productive, and it’s just neat to see the pattern form under my fingers.

I was willing to make time for it.

Not so with cleaning the house.

With the house, that’s “Chores”, that’s “work”. Why would I make time for that?

Well here’s a big thing, I’m an adult now, I don’t have parents to come by and pick up after me if I don’t do it. Nor do I have children yet to assist. So if I want a clean house I need to make time.

However, I read a quick little book called Fish! recently. It’s about loving the work you do, even if it’s not the work you love. There’s a quote in there, and I’m paraphrasing, about one person’s Grandmother, who always had the Grandkids in the kitchen, helping clean up, or make food, or bake. He said that she probably didn’t really enjoy that, but his Grandmother’s kitchen was a place of love, fun, and wisdom… because of her. She had an attitude that made it a great place to be.

Besides, if I want my house clean, some magical fairy isn’t going to come in and do it. We got completely blessed with our friends cleaning up the outside, now I have to make the inside look just as nice.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

