It’s more than just a feeling

November 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So today I’ve had something pressing very hard on me. Last night my friends and I went out “Trick or Canning” we went around door to door and asked for cans for the food bank instead of candy.

We did quite well!

However, one house that we went to has stuck with me. My team was just me and one of our neighbourhood teens, and when we knocked on this door, an elderly lady came to hand out candy. We gave our speil about how we didn’t want candy but were looking for cans, and she told us that it wasn’t her house.

Normally, this would have been the end of our conversation and my buddy and I would have moved on.

The woman kept talking though. She told us that it was her son’s house. He’d taken his young child out Trick or Treating, and had asked his Mother to watch the house. This was because his wife, who is only 40 years old, had a heart attack last Friday and was now in the hospital. She was so bad they’d put a stent into her chest.

We listened to her as she told us all of this, and then continued on our way, collecting cans.

Today, twice, my mind turned to this family and it was all I could think about. I prayed for healing for the wife, strength for the rest of the family, wisdom for the doctor’s and that if I could help in any way, to let me remember which house it was that the family lived in.

As I was busing home today I kept my eyes open, but knew that I might not feel anything, because it might not be my job to step in and help, however, I’m almost positive I know which house it is. As time goes on, I’m more and more sure of it.

I’m not exactly positive on what I can do, but in the mean time I can pray, and ask anyone who reads this to pray, send healing thoughts, or just remember this young family. This woman is eleven years older than me, seven years older than my husband.

I can’t imagine what it would be like if in seven years I had a young child and Chris ended up in the hospital with a life threatening occurance. For this Father, who is now basically a single Dad on top of worrying about his wife, to maintain some semblance of normality for his child by taking them out Trick or Treating, is amazing!

So please, just remember this family and send any mental support you can to them.

Or if you know a family near you that needs some help, do what you can. It’s amazing how even the smallest thing means so much in a situation like that.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

