Rye Caraway Bread

October 13, 2011 at 7:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I was planning on making a batch of my bread today, but once I got home, made dinner and cleaned the kitchen, it was too late to do it. This recipe is requested by my family for family gatherings and especially by my Grandfather.

I haven’t tried it with different types of flour, but as I do I’ll edit this to review it. I will eventually put pictures up here to show how to make the bread, but for now, here’s the recipe.

Rye Caraway Bread

 

4.5 tsp yeast (2 pkgs)
2 c warm water divided
1/4 c packed brown sugar
1 Tb caraway seed
2 tsp salt
1 Tb vegetable oil
2 1/2 c rye flour
2 3/4 c all purpose flour divided (This is the flour I’m going to sub out)

In a large mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in 1/2 c warm water (should be just warm to the touch, not hot). Add brown sugar, caraway seed, oil, salt, and remaining water. Mix well. Stir in rye flour and 1 c white flour. Beat until smooth. Add enough white flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto floured surface, knead until smooth and elastic (about 6-8 min). Place in a greased bowl, turning to grease top of dough. Cover and let rise in a warm place until double (or if you poke your finger in the dough, it shouldn’t bounce back). This should take about 1 hour (according to the recipe, I usually leave it for 2, flipping the dough half way through). Punch dough down, divide in half and shape each half into a loaf (I follow this video when forming my loaves). Place in two loaf pans, cover and let rise until nearly doubled (I actually let my bread rise about 3-4 hours until it looks as tall as I want it, I have big loaf pans though). Bake at 375 F for 25-30 min.

Bon appetit!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

