Birthdays, the good and the bad

October 12, 2011 at 9:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This picture is from 2008, when my Mom and I went Letterboxing for my birthday.

My birthday is full of ups and downs. It comes in the fall, the most beautiful time of year, it’s far enough away from Christmas that it doesn’t get mingled in, but close enough that it almost feels like the start of the season for me.

However, in Canada, the Thanksgiving long weekend falls either right before, right after, or right on my birthday. This meant that birthday parties were few and far between. When I tried to have them, I’d get one person, maybe, who can come.

This year, my husband tried (once again) to make my birthday the bestest ever!!! Unfortunately due to cancellations and scheduling conflicts it ended up just being us and another couple.

As I was sitting at dinner today though, I realized, I don’t need a “bestest ever” birthday. The one thing that would have made it better was if my Mom, and my Grandma were there.

Mom decided to reschedule due to the fact that she would have felt a bit of an outsider with two young couples, and Grandma…

She’s been here in spirit.

All told, I can have a great birthday even if nothing is done for it. I said before that autumn is a new start for me, and that’s what I’m trying.

I was shown this thing about being purposefully happy, and I’ve giving it a go. There’s too much not good stuff happening in the world right now.

Maybe I can make a little bit more good happen just by changing my mind set.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

