A new backyard

October 6, 2011 at 6:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My challenge now is to write a post each morning before I head into work. These aren’t always going to be long, but  it will give me something productive to do.

Today I’m going to tell about what happened on Saturday. Saturday was when my family was throwing my Grandfather’s 80th birthday party (even though he doesn’t turn 80 till October 15th). Each gathering that centres around Grandpa, someone has to make rye caraway bread (it’s his favourite) so this time was my turn. I woke up early and began the bread, then got partially dressed, and settled in to paint my nails and get ready to go.

Then a knock came at my door.

To say I was surprised by who was out there.

Is an understatement. It was my life group from church. We meet every week and do a Bible study, or prayer requests or just talk about ways we need to be lifted up or are walking in the path of Jesus. Sometimes we all get together and work on a big project for each other. In September we helped one member put up her fence.

About 2 weeks prior to this, I had mentioned that we really needed our backyard redone and could we have that be on the list for big projects. I never thought they’d come and do it while we weren’t there. We had to leave shortly after they showed up. They were there for 6 hours and they changed the yard from this:

To This:

It was beyond anything I’d ever thought they could do. The yard was such a disaster I’d completely given up. They decided that my husband and I needed to be shown some love, and they went over and above anything I’d ever seen. Thank you is not enough, having them over for barbecues is not enough. It’s difficult but accepting this love and seeing how God is a part of this is what’s necessary. When there is nothing you can do that properly acknowledges something done for you, that’s when God shows up and says “this is me”.

These guys taught me a lesson in one afternoon that studying the Bible and reading study books hadn’t been able to teach me in a number of years. Thank you is not enough, but it’s all I can say.

That and… when do they want to come over for a barbecue…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

