A costume post

May 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Hey Everyone,

Too much is going on with the wedding right now, and I have a million things to do, but I need a break right now so I’m going to tangent for a post.

I was looking through old posts recently, and I found this one where I told you guys all about the first costume I ever made.

I haven’t really posted any thing else about my costumes, other than trip reports. So I decided that I’m going to do some more costume posts this year, going through the costumes that I’ve made, and maybe even take the makeup tutorials I did and make a page for them or something.

Today, I’m going to tell you guys about 2 (well 3 techincally) costumes that I made that show how quick and easy costumes can look nice and work really well.

To start off with, let’s look at the second costume I made all on my own (made the same time as the Demeter costume, but started much later in the process and only 2 days before the convention I was going to wear it to). This is based off of Kid from a video game call Chrono Cross.

This is what she looks like:

I had decided at this time to go to an Anime convention to wear my Harley Quinn costume (from Batman, made by my Mom) and Demeter, but was freaking out because I didn’t have a costume based off of Anime or Video Games, and I was going to an ANIME CONVENTION!!! AHHH

My friend had been playing through this video game and I really liked the design of her outfit, so at the very last minute I decided to make it, mainly because I had the body type and hair to be able to do it without getting a wig, or having to worry about how I’d look in it. However, I did not have time to go buy fabric for it, nor did I have patterns for it. So I went down to my Mom’s fabric stash. The Hallowe’en prior to this Mom had made my brother a costume based on Kenny from South Park, and the year before that she had made him a Teddy Bear costume.

Now I’m not sure if you see in the picture above, but Kid’s outfit is red and yellow. Kenny is BRIGHT ORANGE, and the teddy bear fabric was beige… but I made do.

I made the skirt by wrapping the fabric around my waist to get it the right width, then added a waistband to hold it together. This fabric was felt, so I was very lucky over the weekend that it didn’t just give and fall off, because there was no fasteners, I just carefully pulled it on. I used a vest pattern that my mom had to get the body for the jacket, but had to improvise sleeves and collar. I then butchered a shirt I’d been given, and pilfered my Mom’s costume jewellery for the necklace. I pulled my hair in a ponytail and was lucky enough to find some orange ribbon in my mom’s stash. Then I spent a day and a half gluing little beige chevrons onto all the edges, with fabric glue, but glue none the less.

It actually turned out not too bad, and even with the colour issue, people recognized me.

I will say though, that I do want to remake this, and when I do, I’m making the skirt longer, because that was the only problem with this outfit. I felt very uncomfortable in the skirt because of it’s shortness. When I make it again, I’m going to definitely use proper red and yellow fabric… and maybe even get a wig.

Second on the quick and easy costumes was Team Rocket from Pokemon. In case you don’t have kids, or have been under a rock in the last 10 years, here is a picture of the characters:

Now first things first, I scrapped the wigs. I did eventually try to make the wig on “Jessie” (the girl) but it was a complete failure. To do these costumes I really just ran to a second hand store and grabbed things to butcher. I was very little at that time so I made the skirt out of an extra large Men’s turtle neck, wore a large sports bra, then butchered a child’s size shirt and put the R on. I had black gloves, and wore knee high socks with shoes, or boots.

For James (the guy), I grabbed a pair of white pants (that were too big for C and I had to take them in by having him wear them, then grabbing the parts that were too big, folding them and safety pinning them… yeah I was SUCH a good costumer back then). I got a black t shirt, and butchered a white turtle neck that was actually a work uniform for a grocery store around here. Wrote the R on it, and gave him black gloves.

All told, both of these costumes took all of a day to make, but we were both recognized and had a ton of fun running around in them. I have to definitely remake mine because I’ve outgrown it, but C’s still fits. The best part about these is that they are SO comfy! We wear them around a lot when we go to conventions just because of their convenience.

So there you can see how I made a couple more of my costumes… I’ll probably slowly post stories about all my costumes as I go along. Since I’m trying to post more, that will give me something to write about 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

