My Insanity

March 18, 2010 at 8:36 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

As promised, here is my insanity (with pictures)

A couple weeks ago I noticed a post on Ravelry about a young woman getting married in April and making a whole bunch of these:

I’ve put my glasses in for scale. She was making them for her guests at her wedding and was in desperate need of help.

I looked at that, made a sock to see how long it took, and figured “I have approximately 130 ish people, and I”m more than 2 months away from the wedding… that’s 2 socks per night and each sock takes about 45 minutes”….

So now my great idea is to knit… 130-150 (depending on the final guest list) to give as table gifts… and that’s why it’s insanity because I may not be sane by the time I finish.

It also helps that I have my blankie of doom and therefore have tons of little sock yarn scraps to draw from…

As of this exact moment I’m sitting at 13.5 socks… not sure if I”ll be able to make it, but as I told my friends, if it doesn’t work out, I’ll just make a garland for my Christmas tree out of them.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Daw, cute little socks! Is that top left one Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Pilsen? It looks a lot like the yarn I used for Sam’s Nutkins.

    • It could be, I have no idea, it’s whatever I pulled out of my big bag of sock yarn scraps.

  2. This is *awesome*. I’m one of the friends who chipped in and made wee sockies for the original April wedding you saw on Ravelry, and I can update you to say that she achieved her total of about 140 sockies in about 6 weeks. Here’s a glimpse of some of them: http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebees/4425599365/.

    One word of warning: these things are addictive! Most of us aren’t ready to stop knitting them, even though she’s reached her quota.

    • I’m already thinking that once I’m done I may just make a garland for my Christmas Tree anyway 🙂

  3. You’re crazy. I have nothing else to say.

  4. Wow! Good luck!

  5. oh how cute…I’m in to help if you want a few others that aren’t ‘bride produced’


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

