Day 3 – With Pet Problems

March 4, 2009 at 4:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I will be fully honest, yesterday I did not do any more exercize… but we were busy what with checking my Grandma’s house and picking up some meds and other errands.

So today started off ok, I decided to skip my sun salutations due to my body not being used to this much activity all at once. My abs and glutes are causing me some discomfort, but I did do a couple of stretches to get myself mobile.

I went out to a social meet up (I knit, and a group of others meet up some mornings to just hang out), and decided on the way home to skip the bus and walk. It was freezing out, but I had layers on, and it was a beautiful sunny day. I turned on my music, found a pace that worked for me, and put one foot in front of the other.

It took me an hour to get home but by the end of it I felt good.

After relaxing a bit and throwing in some laundry I decided to try out a new sequence I found in one of my magazines.

This was my mistake.

The last few times I’ve done yoga have been when my fiancĂ© “C” was in the house so he could keep the interest of our cat Peari. Today, however, C was at work. I figured I would be fine, and pulled out my mat and my blocks and started doing the warm up (Cat to cow to down dog to plank to down dog again to table top to childs pose and repeat). Have you ever tried going into childs pose with a cat under your stomach?

It was interesting. I persevered for about 15 minutes, moving into some Sun Salutations, but trying to do the lunge with kitty between my legs was just too much.

I don’t know what it is about me doing yoga, but apparently it makes me smell like catnip.

Maybe now that C is home I can do a sequence or two.

After I fold this load of laundry.

Today’s Exercize:

Time: 1 hour 15 minutes

What: a very long walk home, yoga: cat pose, cow pose, up dog, down dog, warrior 1 and 2, childs pose, plank pose, 4 limb staff pose.

Feeling: quite energetic actually, the walk, while a test in endurance, really gave me energy. Maybe I’ll start my yoga with a walk around the block to some music to get my heart rate going and my muscles warm.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

