My Booklist for 2008

February 20, 2008 at 10:21 pm | Posted in Books, Reading | 1 Comment

Since this blog has gone into quiet and boring mode due to my lack of USB cable, I figured I would write a little about another hobby that I have and quite enjoy. Reading!

I have recently added a page to my side bar all about the books I’ve read so far this year. As you can guess, I love reading. I will admit though, I’m not a very studious reader. I don’t really read true biographies, or non fiction books, you’ll most likely find me reading a Fantasy novel or romance before anything else.

I’ve recently gotten into historical fiction, and I’m finding that I really like it (if it’s written well), but that I find more enjoyment in books that are written about nobodies, or fictional people, than books written about actual historical figures, merely because my family is all about history and I’ve studied it a lot. With that knowledge, when the fiction and the facts don’t match, my brain tends to pull out of the story and go “that didn’t happen that way!!!”

Maybe I’m a little too up tight with that.

Anyway, as far as favourite books go, I love Polgara the Sorceress by David and Leigh Eddings, as well as the series that came before it that has her character in it as well. My most read book (I’m on the third copy of it right now) is The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery. I actually did NOT like Anne of Green Gables, but I quite enjoyed this little stand alone.

Maybe it’s because I had my own fantasy that I went to when times were tough or boring.

Probably the only books that I really dislike are Horror books. I don’t like scary movies and I have a very active imagination and the imagery from horror books can keep me away for days. I didn’t even like Goosebumps when I was a kid.

So, what types of stories do you like? What don’t you like? Do you have a guilty pleasure? A favourite author?

Just curious is all…

Till next time.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I read anything by Terry Pratchett, Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicals and Mayfair Witch stories and I also like Lost, Wicked and Confessions of an Ugly Step-Sister by Gregory Maguire and the Da Vinci Code.

    Um, I’ll read anything really those are just my favourites at the moment.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

