Spinning Sunday #2 – A sad sad day

July 15, 2007 at 10:33 pm | Posted in Spinning | 1 Comment

So, I was planning on having some more beautifully spun wool out of that sampler pack I got.

I was going to have the blue and black all spun up and nice to show you. Here’s the fibre first of all:

pretty fibre

Pretty, isn’t it? And in my favourite colour combination too. So I sat down and started spinning. The singles spun up beautifully, and quite quickly too. It was going along so nicely that I figured I’d get straight to the plying. I started to make a ball around my hand and elbow, then took both ends and prepared to ply.

Again, it started off well.

But then, the singles kept getting tangled… and tightening around my wrist, and being very difficult when I tried to spin and draft them.

In the end, the rest of my yarn looks like this (don’t look if you have a queasy stomach).

I’m really not sure if there’s any way to save it. I think I’ll have to cut off the offending part and hope I can save it. I think that once I get the area cut away I’ll be able to detangle it, but then I’m an optimist.

I just hope it will all work out. I’ve been advised to use my ball winder in the future for  centre pull balls that don’t tangle.

I’ll definitely try that with the black.

Until next time.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] for excuses, after the monstrosity of plying that I showed you last time, my spinning is currently sitting in time out. I’ll get back to it soon, but I have to get up […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

