Mystery Stole #3, Clue #1

July 7, 2007 at 9:32 pm | Posted in Knitting, Mystery Stole 3, Ravelry | 1 Comment


Spring2007 064

Originally uploaded by toothpick_girl

So, I have joined the Mystery Stole #3 knit along, I wasn’t going to originally because I have a tendency to cast on a LOT of projects and never get them done. Then I read the KAL page found on Ravelry and just thought it was too cool for words (not to mention the fact that if I didn’t do it and then wanted to knit the shawl later, it would no longer be free. Plus it was just plain fun!). So I dug in my stash (since I’m doing “Knit from your stash” and found a bunch of Value Village yarn.

I am the queen of the mystery Value Village yarn, but sometimes I score some really good stuff to. Like in this case, I got 6 balls of Andrew Stewart Fine Spun Shetland Tweed Matching Knitting Wool. It’s from Scotland, each ball is about an ounce each, and it’s in a nice, bronzy brown colour. These 6 balls cost me $4 CAD. That’s why I love Value Village.

Anyway, so I grabbed that yarn, and some beads that were in my costume closet (note to self, if making this again, find beads that match the yarn a bit better, these look nice, but I’m sure it could look nicer.)

I signed up the Thursday before the first Clue came out, and so I didn’t get a chance to make a swatch, not that I really would have anyway, I tend to fly by the seat of my pants a lot when it comes to mystery things like this.

So far I’m really enjoying this KAL. I stayed up all Thursday night to have clue 1 finished in time for clue 2 to come out. It helps that I work nights on weekends so I’m used to being up all night.

This will probably be gifted, because honestly, having a Christmas gift finished at the end of summer really just makes sense. Besides, I’m sure I can make another one for myself.

Till next time.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A girl after my own heart…I’m a VV Boutique shopper too. Isn’t it great to score some really neat fibre. I even got 6 x 1000yd skeins of soft Romanian cotton… more than enough to do a wedding shawl from Heirloom Knits that I’ve had my eye on.
    Nice pic of your MS3, I’ve joined but not started.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

