Getting ready for the Olympics

February 9, 2006 at 8:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Well now, I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve been terribly lax lately with my blogging. However, as penence I have some finished objects for you.

First up is my new, beautiful Picovoli, this being my first Sexy Knitters Club contribution.

This was a very fun, quick, and lovely knit. I used Hawai yarn, which happns to be 60% nylon and 40% tricot (whatever that is, I think it’s in a different language), so I did it a size smaller than what I would normally fit, due to the elasticity of the yarn.

Next is the first sock in my pair of February Stashbuster spirals. I quite enjoy this yarn (don’t remember the name), which is a new one I’m trying, and the pattern is great fun.

However, I had quite a bit of difficulty with the heel. It took me three tries to understand how the turning worked. I’m not sure if I like this heel, but it’s good to learn new techniques. This sock is a bit loose around and a touch long in the foot, so when I make another pair, I’l probably make it a size smaller.

So this sock is waiting for it’s mate, and I think it will be soon in the making. I’m liking toe up sockes, mainly for the lack of Kitchener stitch, which I have yet to master. Unfortunately for the sock, it’s mate won’t be started in the next week week because of this:

This is my Olympic Knitting Swatch. Tomorrow, at 2:00pm, I will be starting my Blaze sweater, and knitting away to show my knitting strength and speed.

At the same time I will be cheering on Lene at The Seated View as she knits her one stitch a day during this wonderful week.

I need to also go out and get 2 sets of 3.75 mm DPN’s for the sleeves of Blaze.

Other than that, I have done a couple of costume photo shoots and hope to have a couple of pics for you of that.

I have to admit, it’s difficult to juggle knitting, sewing my costumes, and my school and home life. We’ll see if I can manage not to drop any balls.

Till next time

-Saff

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

