My views on Acrylic (or day 2 of my resolution)

January 11, 2006 at 8:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Ok, so this is day 2 of my Better Blogging resolution.

I figured today I would talk about Acrylic yarn and why I very much like it.

When I was originally planning this post, I had thought I would add images to it, however due to my computer still not liking my camera, that isn’t an option.

So.

Why I like Acrylic:

1. Acrylic can be cheap. This was originally going to be “Acrylic IS cheap” but that fact was recently proven false when I was recently on a Stash expedition and found $15/50g balls of 100% acrylic. However, with certain brands, acrylic can be the least expensive yarn out there. For a college student working her way through, this is a good thing.

2. Acrylic is easy. I’m a lazy person and I hate doing laundry. Therefore, hand washing a whole bunch of sweaters isn’t my ideal. I’ll do it, but I won’t pretend to enjoy doing it. The fact that acrylic can be grabbed off my floor, shoved through the washing machine (on heavy duty no less) and the dryer (on hot) and still come out in the size and shape that it’s supposed to be, is a good thing.

3. Acrylic comes in better colourways. At least around me. Believe me, I’ve looked. When I go to my LYS (which usually turns out to be Walmart, Micheals or Zellers) the prettiest yarn that I can usually find is in the acrylic.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love natural fibres, wool, alpaca, cashmere, all have they’re own value, and I’ve tried all of them at different times with different levels of success.

HOWEVER, I’ve noticed that in my current state as an unsupported college student, I have two options. Have a small amount of yarn, but knit with the good stuff, or… have a ton of yarn that I can pick and choose from to make whatever project I choose, but it’s the acrylic.

With those as my options, I’m happy with acrylic.

I’m going to try to get my pics onto my friend’s computer (he has the same camera as me) so that I can do a list of “things I learned in 2005” soon.

Ttyl

-Saff

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

