Plans Plans Plans… and Me in the Paper!

January 10, 2006 at 8:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So!

It’s been a while hasn’t it… I know I know, I’m a horrible blogger. I have my camera back, but now it’s being a pain with my computer, but we’ll see if I can’t get that fixed up soon.

Anyway, last year I made a number of Fiber Resolutions and I figured that I would go over them because I think I did a very good job at keeping them.

I wanted to learn to make socks, I’m now on pair four!

I wanted to crochet, while I didn’t do much, I can now do chain stitch and single crochets quite well.

I wanted to make lace, I’ve made a Charlotte’s Web shawl as well as a number of other started projects.

I wanted to learn how to spin…. this is where things get a little finicky, I know HOW to spin, I just haven’t done it physically as I lack the funds to get the things I need

Looking at it, I’m relatively pleased with my list, I’ve also managed to make sweaters, cardigans, millions of scarves and hats.

I’ve got quite the FO list.

HOWEVER

My UFO list currently is OBSCENE. Therefore, my resolution for this year is to FINISH as many of the current projects as I can. This involves joining The Blue Blog’sFix it up KAL to finish my (hated) Matrix shell, that WILL be beautiful when finished, but isn’t now.

Other Resolutions include, becoming a better blogger. I would really like to be able to post like The Yarn Harlot and many others that I read. I just tend to do other things instead. I’m going to crack the whip, I’m going to be a blogger, even if I really have nothing to talk about, I’m going to blog.

As far as knitterly accomplishments, I think I’m going to try to work my way through my stash. I’ve got a lot of left over yarn from past projects and future planned projects, and impulse buys. So… I’m hoping to work through it as much as possible.

We’ll see how well I do with this one.

In other news, I was featured in my local newspaper because the county is trying to take away the bus that I take to school, which is my only way to get there.

End of Line for College Bus

Cambridge-to-Conestoga College line one of six underused routes

JEFF OUTHIT

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

RECORD STAFF
Conestoga College student Jessie Houston stands in front of a Preston bound bus yesterday. The GRT is considering cancelling the Doon to Preston bus, forcing approximately 100 students like Houston, to seek alternative arrangements.

WATERLOO REGION (Jan 10, 2006)

The Grand River Transit bus from Preston to Conestoga College and back rumbles along empty most of the time.

On average, Route 61 draws just 70 passengers a day to fill 1,600 seats.

At an annual subsidy of $103,000, it would be cheaper for taxpayers to cancel the route and hand each of these passengers $1,470.

These high costs have persuaded transit planners to recommend cancelling Route 61, along with five similarly underperforming routes in Cambridge and Waterloo.

“To my mind, they have to be closed,” Coun. Mike Connolly of Waterloo.

He contends it’s not fair to taxpayers to spend so much on routes serving so few.

But Route 61, established in 2000, is important to the few students who ride it. It’s the only direct route to Conestoga College from Cambridge. They want it saved.

“I would have absolutely no way to get to school,” said Jessie Houston, 23, who is studying for a secretarial diploma. “It is my only way there.

“I’d probably have to find an apartment or something closer to the school, which would mean that my entire budget would be blown off.”

Houston lives with her family in the south end of Galt. It takes her two hours on three buses to reach the college and return.

That’s on days when the timing is right.

Traffic delays often leave her stranded for 30 extra minutes, waiting for the next bus. But she can live with this weak service, as long as Route 61 stays in place.

“I don’t drive. And I’m too far away to walk or bike.”

Houston has tried an alternate transit route through Kitchener but said it takes even longer and doesn’t fit her school schedule.

“Dropping out of school is the last thing I want to do,” she said.

Coun. Jane Brewer of Cambridge is leading the charge to save Route 61 and Route 68 on Eagle Street, also threatened with cancellation.

She contends Cambridge students deserve a direct route to the college, even if few use it. She worries students might drop out of school.

“We’ve often known there are bus routes that have low ridership,” Brewer said. “But it provides a service.

“We’re saying ‘Take the bus and leave your car at home.’ And the more you take the buses off, the less likely people are to do that.”

The Conestoga student government is also lobbying to save Route 61.

The proposed cancellation, when the school year ends in June, is “kind of a regressive move,” student president Justin Falconer said.

Falconer estimates up to 800 Cambridge students attend the Conestoga College. Many drive and park at the college, but he’s been contacted by some who use Route 61 regularly.

For students who can’t afford cars, “it’s the only way to get to school,” Falconer said. “I see this as a very specialized service for students.”

Transit planners recommended axing the six little-used routes after regional council demanded the transit service trim its costs.

Taxpayers would save $440,000 a year. Service levels would fall by just under two per cent.

Council is to decide the fate of threatened routes by Jan. 25.

“We looked at our lowest-performing routes,” said John Cicuttin, associate director of transportation planning for regional government. “These were the ones that were on the bottom of the list.”

Brewer and Houston wonder if Route 61 could be altered to draw more passengers.

“That bus really isn’t efficient a lot of the time,” Houston said.

“A number of times it’s late. It could be planned out better.”

Transit planners say Route 61, already tweaked more than once, suffers from traffic congestion and poor transfer connections. Some student passengers are dissuaded by the need to transfer twice.

“There’s no easy answers,” Cicuttin said.

Grand River Transit intends to promote the route at the college this spring to see if this helps.

jouthit@therecord.com

ROUTES ON THE CHOPPING BLOCK

On average, neighbourhood routes of Grand River Transit recover 33 per cent of costs. Routes that do not achieve a benchmark of 30 per cent are subject to review.

The region, later this month, will consider cancelling six low-performing routes:

74 RIM Park in Waterloo costs $80,000 a year to ferry 18 passengers a day. It recovers nine per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $15.10 every time a passenger boards.

61 Conestoga College in Cambridge costs $103,000 a year to ferry 70 passengers a day. It recovers 13 per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $5.89 every time a passenger boards.

73 Northlake in Waterloo costs $45,000 a year to ferry 24 passengers a day. It recovers 14 per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $7.50 every time a passenger boards.

75 Saginaw in Cambridge costs $44,000 a year to ferry 30 passengers a day. It recovers 16 per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $5.87 every time a passenger boards.

72 Cherry Blossom in Cambridge costs $49,000 a year to ferry 36 passengers a day. It recovers 17 per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $5.44 every time a passenger boards.

68 Eagle Street in Cambridge costs $119,000 a year to ferry 125 passengers a day. Recovers 21 per cent of costs. Taxpayers spend $3.13 each time a passenger boards.

Record staff

So Yay, and yup, I’ll hopefully talk again tomorrow.

Till then.

-Saff

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

