Pictureless post and Disco Yarn Review

December 3, 2005 at 8:08 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

On a normal occasion, I would have pictures to accompany this post, seeing as it’s a yarn review post, however, my camera is still in Virginia, but hopefully it will be home soon.

So… This week I got to try my hand at a new yarn. Or at least new to me. Bernat was sending people free balls of it’s Disco brand of yarn through Mary Maxim.

When I pulled it out of the bag and looked at it my mother turned to me, eyes aglow, and this conversation occurred:

Mom: You know.. I have a brown winter jacket that would match that beautifully.

Saff: Yes, but I’m already knitting you a purple cabled scarf that’s going to be in your stocking… you don’t have that big of a stocking…

needless to say, my mother, although she does knit… is beginning to like this whole “daughter knitting getting free yarn” thing.

I frequently get hints dropped and requests made for scarves that match her jackets and mits that aren’t too big (because apparently my gramma, for the life of her, cannot knit small mits)

anyway back to the yarn.

I’m not really one for novelty yarns, and this is novelty with a capital N.

It’s almost like the tinsel you put on you christmas tree… it’s got some plain threads like eyelash yarn, and then some tinsely stuff to make it sparkly.

it took me a bit to decide what to do with it, but in the end, I figured, mom wants it, so i may as well make it.

Best part is, mom doesn’t know she’s getting it, unlike her purple one.

Now I grabbed my largest needles (my bamboo 13 mm ones from my SP4) and cast on 15 stitches. I then knit in garterstitch while I watched talkshows.

Three hours later I had a scarf. I must say that for all my disliking of novelty yarns, this stuff is nice. It’s soft, it flows through your fingers very nicely and knits up wonderfully, you don’t have to fight it like I find when i’m knitting with other eyelash yarns.

It’s also extremely warm.. I was wearing it yesterday around the house to see, and even tho it’s loosely knit, the threads fill the holes nicely. It has a bit of a smell to it that I’m not fond of, but I’m sure that will go away with a few wears and such.

In the end, with the 13mm needles and 15 stitches in garter stitch I ended up with an approximately 2 foot long scarf in 3 hours that I’m sure my mom will love.

I might actually look into getting some more of this stuff.

-saff

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

