I’m Learning! And Teaching!

January 29, 2005 at 10:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I’m so proud of me..

So I do a weekly Role playing game with my friends, and it does take quite a while to do. So I usually have my mindless knitting and work on it when it’s not my turn.

Well my one friend Infini became interested in it and asked me if I could show her how…

So I now also help her with the wristwarmers she’s making from Knit1 mag (she chose it of her own accord, I would have suggested something easier, but she wanted to do these).

She’s doing really well, just makes her stitches a bit too tight… I’m trying to help her with that because I used to have the same problem. Only thing is.. I don’t know how I fixed it. I stopped knitting for about 5 years, and when I picked it up again, it just worked.

I also have been wanting to learn how to make socks for a while, I’ve got a fair amount of yarn (worsted weight, sport and sock specific) I just haven’t been brave enough to try it..Untill now!!!! Last night at Value Village (I LOVE That store now!) I picked up a patons sock knitting kit for $3.00 CAD, which is DAMN good!I had recently picked up some 2.25mm and 3.00mm sets of DPN so I took the smaller set (half a mm too small) and started the pattern. Because my needles are too small, I added 8 stitches evenly across, I hope it works, it seems to be so far.

At Value Village I also grabbed a really nice red sweater… the make of the sweater was ginormous, but the yarn was absolutely fab, so I’m currently pulling the sweater apart to turn it into something I’ll wear… not sure what that’ll be yet, but we’ll see.

I’m trying to use up my stash yarn, I really am.

I have a bit of a dilemma and when I get home I’ll take a picture of it.

I have a bunch of skeins of this really cool fur type yarn (not funfur, so much better than that)

It’s called Bombastic, and it’s 50 yards per skein… I’ve got about 3-5 skeins of medium/rusty brown, 1-2 skeins of chestnut brown and 1 skein of black.

I either want to make something really cool out of it (aka, something more than a hat or scarf) or give it away in a trade to someone who needs it or can make something out of it.

I’ll show a picture either tonight or tomorrow and see what people think. It’s a really really cool yarn and if I could I’d use it in a heartbeat. I just don’t know if I can make anything really nice out of it.

And yeah.. end Bombastic rant.

I think that’s it for now.With the knit alongs and sp4 that i’ve joined, I’m actually trying to keep this blog updated now..oh yeah.. and everyone say hi to my Secret Pal who might stop in and read these posts. I’ve got a couple emails from her and she sounds totally awesome! Can’t wait to get more emails and letters from her (i’m looking forward to that more than i’m looking forward to the presents I also get..)

I just hope I’m a good Secret Pal to my buddy.see you all later!-saff

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

