Of Recipe Boxes and Cheesy Crisps

December 30, 2007 at 12:48 pm | Posted in baking, Peari, recipe | Leave a comment

Just to update on Peari, we took her to the vet yesterday and she got a completely clean bill of health. She’s a perfect weight and has no problems at all that can be seen. We’ve scheduled her booster and rabies shot for a couple of weeks from now and she’ll be getting spayed at the end of January (we want to give her a chance to get used to us and the apartment before taking her for a big surgery). So yay!

Now, Kay over at Mason-Dixon Knitting is asking people for their recipe boxes and favourite recipes. I have one recipe box, but it was inherited from my Mother-in-Law and is currently rather boring on the outside.

I’m going to have to get some stickers or something to make it a much cooler looking box. However I like the fact that I can look through the top at the dividers.. not sure why that’s so important to me, but it is. It does have a nice separator section so that you can find the type of recipes you’re looking for really quick.

This however is more of the “starting out in your own place beginner recipes” type of recipe box with a few extra recipes thrown in from magazines.

My personal recipe storage is on the fridge…

This way my most used and favourite recipes are at my fingertips when I need them. I’m thinking I need to get a binder soon like the Heathen Housewife because I’m very quickly running out of fridge space.

The recipe I’m going to share is one of my favourites. It’s a recipe I got from my Step-mother (she of the nifty knitting bag), and she makes it every time I go over to visit her. These Easy Peasy Cheese Crisps are a wonderful way to use up Rice Krispies when you get sick of making the dessert snacks. These are delicious and perfect for entertaining.

I made a half batch of these today and got about 30 crisps, when my Step-Mom makes it she gets close to 90.

Easy Peasy Cheese Crisps

1 tub Imperial Cheese (like margarine only it’s spreadable cheese)
1 C Butter
Dash Salt
1/4 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 1/2 C Flour
4 C Rice Krispies

Preheat oven to 350 F

Allow butter and cheese to reach room temperature (or put them in the microwave on defrost for about 45 seconds). Mix together with a fork. Add Salt and Worcestershire Sauce, then slowly add flour and Rice Krispies.

When well mixed, put a small dollop on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Press down with a fork. Repeat until all of the mixture is used. (These crisps don’t rise or grow so you can place them fairly close together).

Bake in the oven for up to 15 minutes. (Ovens may vary, I usually start with 8 minutes, then go 11, then up to 15. You want the crisps to start looking a tiny bit brown around the edges).

Pull out of oven and let cool, they’re really delicious while warm with a bit of red pepper jelly.

It almost sounds harder than it is. These seriously take about 5 minutes to mix up and the 15 to cook. Totally a last minute entertaining specialty for me.

Peari however is a bit miffed with me.

“Mom won’t let me on the counter when she’s baking.”

Till next time.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

